D20 burlesque!

March 7, 2011

Now that I am doing burlesque as my main source of income, I have been trying to step up the amount of gigs I do to help keep myself going.   One of the ways I’ve been trying to do this is find new venues or produce my own shows.

Inspired by the production power houses that are Calamity Chang and Lefty Lucy, and the recent success of Franny Fluffer with her David Lynch Burlesque, I decided to try my hand at producing my own show.

I have been looking at venues for awhile and eventually contacted the Parkside Lounge about doing a gaming themed show, a form of the current nerdlesque (nerd burlesque) that I am yet to see in NYC.  Well, they were fine with the idea and we’ve booked two shows: a RPG (role playing game) based show this month on March 25th and a board game themed show in April. In order to keep it a unified thing, I dubbed the show D20 Burlesque which will become a group of different performers coming together to celebrate gaming culture.

The whole thing is an interesting experience as I have never produced a show myself, burlesque or otherwise.

I have already gotten a sponsor to donate raffle prizes, which I am excited about because it is my favorite gaming store in New York! Check out the Compleat Strategist to see what I mean!

In the mean time, I am trying to work on acts for the show, making promotional advertisements, and reaching out to different nerd groups in NYC.

I will give fair warning that I might not be updating that much due to the amount of work I need to do, but if you are facebook friends, you’ll be getting much more information and updates.

3 Responses to “D20 burlesque!”

  1. […] Anja Keister wrote in her blog on March 7, this show was the very first that she produced on her own, and I’d say that she struck gold with […]

  2. Kelsey K said

    Have you ever thought about teaching burlesque classes? I’m not sure if you’re at that level or not but I know Simply Fit in Astoria hosts a lot of classes in either dance, zumba, bellydance, etc. No burlesque currently.

    • I have thought about it, and I taught a class at the Jim Thorpe Burlesque Festival, but I don’t know if I’d feel comfortable teaching a full on weekly class in NY. Thank you for the compliment and suggestion though. I would be interested in doing private parties though, so please feel free to contact me if this is something you’d be interested in!

Leave a comment