bravo tv taping with grace gotham

February 13, 2011

This photo shows the archway leading into one of the main room. The performance was later held there.

Last week I received an email from the wonderful Grace Gotham asking if I could be her assistant for an act she needed help setting up. At the time I thought I has work, but luckily I found out the next day that I was scheduled to have Tuesday off so I excitedly emailed Grace back to say I could! She hadn’t found another helper at that point so it was all food.

At this point she shared more details. Ends up the event was a Marie Antoinette inspired tea party. Well, it was a charity event, or rather a Charitea event.  Hosted by Tracy Stern, the women behind SALONTEA, the event was a fundraiser for SFK (Success For Kids) which helps at risk youth by offering different kinds of positive and educational experiences.

Grace Gotham and Tracy Stern (in her amazing outfit) posing for the cameras post performance.

The event was going to be held at the The National Arts Club, which is a fancy older building organization that hosts art events, hosts talks, and has several galleries inside it’s walls.  The event was going to be taped for Bravo to be used for the upcoming Chris March Project.  (To prevent massive let down later, no Chris March ended up not being there) And finally, the event was a themed tea party, Marie Antionette style.

I decided that if I was going to be helping Grace Gotham out, I should make sure to dress the part so I pieced together an outfit and styled a wig and was all packed and ready for the next day’s festivities.

I arrived around 2pm and started to get ready in their large bathroom that had its own sort of parlor area to it, which ended up serving as a wonderful dressing room.  Grace arrived and I helped her set up her props and stage, and then worked with the event planners to have her ready at the desired time.  I ran the music, introduced Grace Gotham (“Humor’s Favorite Temptress!”) and then kittened up the clothes afterwards. It was a lot of work for a fairly short performance, but it was neat to be around so photographers and camera people from Bravo TV.

Grace Gotham and I fooling around and posing after the taping.

To help calm down before the performance, Grace and I hit up L’express, a restaurant and bar up the street from the venue, and so we excited to go back afterwards for a celebratory drink which ended up turning into dinner because we were chatting up a storm. Although the place is not vegan, I will give them credit for being a fancy place, that uses green practices, and is open 24 hours!

While I munched on some fries and grilled asparagus, and sipped a delicious apple ginger cocktail, we discussed the differences between the NY burlesque scene and others, the merits of comedy in burlesque, and how burlesque had effected our lives and romantic relationships. It was quite a delight to just sit and talk with another performer, and Grace is such a kind, charming lady, we just kept talking.  Eventually we finished our meals, and drinks, and had to head home because it was getting late.  We went back to the National Arts Club and picked up our wigs and burlesque gear from the coat check before parting ways for the night.

Overall a great experience and way more fun than a day of work!

One Response to “bravo tv taping with grace gotham”

  1. […] Tansy was quite….exciting. Grace brought out her tea cup, the same one I helped her with when we did the Bravo taping, as well as a pie she did some naughty stuff with. My favorite for the night had to be Amelia […]

Leave a Reply

