vegan fashion night

November 14, 2010

This past Thursday I had been invited to a fasion night called Vegan Glamour In Designers of the Future hosted by OlsenHaus shoes, Farm Sanctuary and the Pratt School’s Fashion Design Department. The event was to celebrate vegan fashion and to pick the winner of a student contest to develop a new OlsenHaus shoe design which will be produced with some of the proceeds going to Farm Sanctuary.

The evening was full of wonderful fashion, celebrities and delicious foods and drinks courtesy of Candle 79, Blossom Restaurants, Cocoa V, Smuttynose Brewing Company, Fizzy Lizzy, Dr. Cow vegan cheese and more! Oh man, there was this stuff called Faux Gras made from lentils, and I’ve never had real fois gras and never will, but this lentil stuff was amazing! But enough about the food, let’s see some pictures!

This event was held at the Atelier Skytop Lounge, whichalong with being swanky and modern, had an amazing view:

There were lots of celebrities at the fashion event including Russell Simmons, Moby, Gene Baur, Jane Velez-Mitchell and more.  Here is a picture of the photo area when Gene and Russell stepped up for photo ops:

Melisser Elliot, of The Urban Housewife blog fame, was there with copies of her book, The Vegan Girl’s Guide to Life. We struck up a conversation about her wonderful hair clip (she got it on etsy) and it ends up she has read this blog before while looking up information on fake lashes!

And oh-ho, you thought I was done talking about food, but after snacking on some delicious mini cupcakes from Vegan Treats Bakery, I was so happy to see Danielle Konya showed up so I could thank her for fulfilling my sweet tooth once again!

In case I hadn’t mentioned it before, I used to live a few blocks away from the Vegan Treats Bakery in Bethlehem, PA and it was a sad, sad day when I moved, mainly because I knew I wouldn’t be able to get vegan bostom cream doughnuts on a regular basis anymore! Luckily NYC gets a lot of VT deliveries, so I still get my occassional fix.  Here are the mini cupcakes I got to munch on Thursday night:

The whole evening was a wonderful experience.  I even got to meet photographer Jeffrey Clark, who works a lot with the Dances of Vice crowd and at TRASH! doing photos of burlesque performers. Hopefully I’ll get some pictures back from him to show y’all. Also, here is the write up via ecorazzi.com about the event, check it out.

3 Responses to “vegan fashion night”

  1. Tanya said

    this looks like so much fun!

  2. It does indeed, look like great fun! I am (soylent?) green with envy. Faux gras is a good name, I hadn’t heard that before.

  3. […] For those of you who do not know about Moos Shoes, it is a wonderful vegan company thats sells vegan (and often ethically made) shoes, shirts, purses and jackets. They also sell books there, including the Vegan Girls Guide to Life by Melisser Elliot who i met at that Farm Sanctuary fashion show! […]

Leave a Reply

