learning how to do makeup

April 16, 2010

I grew up in a house where makeup was not a common occurrence. Throughout high school I would actually have to put makeup on my mother if she was going someplace fancy because she didn’t own any and didn’t know how to apply it either. My sister, who is 6 years older than me, did wear some, but our age difference prevented me from really learning from her, since I was the dorky younger sister while she was in high school. Any make up tips I learned when I was younger were out of magazines I would borrow from the local library because I was “too cool and feminist” to actually subscribe to those “girly” magazines.

In 12th grade I was in my high school’s production of Guys and Dolls as part of the “hot box dancers” (ahh, we can see the burlesque in me beginning to blossom!). The choreographer taught us all how to apply stage makeup, which she equated as simply her everyday makeup but emphasized to be seen across an audience. These tips I have used since, but now that I am trying to learn how to look more glam, pin-up, and bombshell, I am realizing I need to increase my knowledge of makeup and how it should be applied.

Since I lost all my old makeup earlier this year on a trip, I have started fresh with all vegan makeup selection. I purchased most of mine from Aveeda, E.L.F. and MAC, making sure to check with the companies websites or emailing them first to confirm that they were indeed vegan products. I also dream of walking into a Sephora (or online where they have a specific vegan page listing all their vegan products) and picking up some of the uber glam Urban Decay vegan stuff. That will come in time.

yes, so enthused....

This past Saturday, when I attended the Wasabassco burlesque show, I decided to try out a more retro, pin up look. Using the almighty power of the internet I stumbled across Kandee Johnson, a makeup artist who has posted tons of instructional makeup videos on youtube. Although Kandee makes no claim of being veg, I was surprised that she mainly used Hard Candy and MAC products, two companies that are known for being vegan friendly. Here you can see my attempt at doing the Marylin Monroe look she shows in the youtube video below. I was lacking the specific kinds of makeup, but I tried my best and was somewhat surprised.

My makeup: white and medium brown eye shadow from E.L.F on my lids and brows, dark brown eyeliner from E.L.F., dark purple shadow for around my lids by Aveeda, berry colored lip tint from Aveeda.

2 Responses to “learning how to do makeup”

  1. Tanya said

    i really like MAC lipstick. they have the best colors. youre going to need come black liquid eyeliner! that one take some practice…

    • I know! I actually used to wear liquid for theatre productions (and maybe my painting background helps) so I am pretty okay with it. I just need to buy some (and foundation, and concealer, and blush, and more eye shadow, and more lipstick……)

Leave a Reply

